top of page

J + E | Intimate, heartfelt wedding in Wimberley, TX


Jonathan and Ellen. God.. where do I start?


Their wedding on November 2nd wasn't some huge production, but an intimate, heartfelt gathering. Ellen affectionately called it a "family reunion where a wedding just happened to take place." It was exactly what they wanted. And this is exactly what I mean when I say you should have an intentional wedding- whether you choose to elope or not.


From the florals to the triangular ceremony arch, everything was put together with the help of their loved ones. The bride made four different types of cookies, her father made the toffee he's been making since the eighties (perfect, by the way), and her brother smoked brisket and salmon..and officiated!


When I walked Jonathan over to the vineyard for the first look I asked him how he was feeling. He told me this was the most relaxed he had been all week. I could tell how excited he was to see Ellen, and how ready he was to marry her. His reaction to seeing her was.. well, scroll down and see for yourself. It's a good one.


I often get emotional at weddings but this one takes the cake; I cried behind my camera more times than I'd like to admit. My favorite moment of the night was when Molly, Ellen's sister, gave the most beautiful toast. She spoke about moving away and later realizing that, despite being the older one, she had been looking up to Ellen the whole time. I'm extremely close to my sisters so that particular sequence of photos will always tug at my heartstrings.


All of their friends had nothing but good things to say about them. One of them said neither of them have a single mean bone in their body, and that they are every bit as thoughtful and kind in their daily life as they had been that day. I believe that.


I actually took some portraits for Ellen the Saturday prior. We had to reschedule because I ended up in the ICU the week we were originally supposed to take them. I remember feeling so terrible about it, but her only concern was how I was doing. An angel, truly. One of my favorite things about her is that whenever you tell her something she finds sweet she’ll clasp her hands together on her chest, close her eyes, and smile as if it’s the best thing she’s ever heard. She has a way of making you feel so important and cared for.


To end the night, the two of them had their first dance to Let's Stay Together, followed by a father-daughter dance to Moon River from Breakfast at Tiffany's.



Jonathan, Ellen, I know I've said it a thousand times but I mean it wholeheartedly: your wedding was a dream. It was a privilege to capture your day and I hope we keep in touch, we are neighbors after all!




Hair • Brianna Marie


Instagram @blushbylea


Decorative Name + Date Cookies • Kaitlyn Hare

Instagram @moonlitsweet



Looking for someone to capture your intimate wedding? I'm here for ya!

Comments


bottom of page